Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
De retour de Suède !
Derniers commentaires
8 février 2005

Lyon, T. and other insignificant stories

Phew! I begin to get used to working again a lot at hospital and now I am more organized to have a few free time and have fun.

Life at the Emergency Department is not cool but I adapt myself in this crazy and poor environment. I am not sure to learn a lot but I think the aim of this rotation is to manage by yourself whatever the circumstances! But you don't have to expect any kind remarks from your tutor. For instance, the first time at the « serious unit » I introduced myself to my boss and told him my name. His answer was clear: « Don't give your name! For me, you are only a student! » Welcome to

France

! It is exactly what Atul GAWANDE, the author of Complications (excellent) describes in the

USA

My job as a nurse is a little bit better. I was last week-end at Pediatrics' Emergency department and it was a mess! Indeed, after the snow storm in our area, a lot of people went to the mountains to ski and do bobsleigh… As a consequence, a lot of injuries, strains and broken limbs!

Train station under the snow!

I spent two days in

Lyon

to go shopping and it was great. I had fun with J., P. and A. and it is so nice to escape from my local environment!

Place Bellecour and the Statue of Louis XIV; Fourviere Cathedrale in the background

Cathedrale of Fourvière

Lyon's City Hall

 

Cathedrale Saint-Jean

Because of a strike, I was late at F. surprise birthday party!

A typical french buffet !

with a Tartiflette (potatoes with cheese from the Alpes)

E.'s birthday party was perfect; we were all dressed up like Indian people.

My homesickness from

Sweden

is a lit bit over because on Sunday I have two Swedish girls at home from Linköping Hälsuniversitet and it was a great pleasure to talk to them and to have again and again this wonderful Scandinavian spirit and way of thinking in my place.

The good point is as well that I had a call from S. yesterday and he will be in

Paris

on March 4th to 6th and we will spend the week end together there. Life can be so nice sometimes!

Sports: I am less tired and sick (gastro enteritis plus a cold last week, fortunately between two duties) and go more often doing sports : swimming and running to prepare the Marathon of Paris ! And what a surprise to be interviewed by the local TV news yesterday during my training! I was so sexy in tight-fitting training pants and some drops going out from my big nose!

And finally you will discover T., born on january, 24th in the middle of a snow storm! 54 cm and 3 900g of Beauty and Happiness! Welcome to Life! And congratulations to your parents! I hope you will as nice as your sisters...

Publicité
Commentaires
C
hi my dear Matt!<br /> i m showing your site and mine to egyptian friend. i m very happy you reciev sweedish at home, it s very good for you and for them because i know you take good care of them!<br /> here everything is fine, i think about you, working in pediatric, i hope it s not so bad and you enjoy the rest.<br /> bisous. <br /> clemence.
De retour de Suède !
Publicité
De retour de Suède !
Archives
Publicité